Thursday, June 8, 2023
HomeEventsObi Emelonye's 'Last Flight to Abuja' bags the biggest award at this...

Obi Emelonye’s ‘Last Flight to Abuja’ bags the biggest award at this years African Oscars, Beverley Hills!

Reading Time: 4 minutes

KD Aubert

The African Oscars popularly known as (NAFCA) Nollywood and African Films Critics Awards  had its 4th Award event on the 13 of September 2014 at the Saban Theatre in Beverly Hills, California.

LAST FLIGHT TO ABUJA was the biggest winner at the 4th NAFCA Awards with five awards from 9 nominations, including; Best Screenplay, Best Cinematography, Best Actress, Best Visual Effects, Most Promising Actor.
Obi Emelonye was very impress with the win and couldn’t believe it. “I wish I were there in person”, he expressed on his Facebook page. “For a film shot in 2011 and released in cinemas over 2 years ago to not only rub shoulders with high budget recent films, but also emerge as the biggest winner on a night of glitz for African cinema is remarkable. 
God bless the day I conceived of this humble project that has gone on to become Nigeria’s most awarded film…ever. God bless my family, my team and all who have supported this film. To God be the glory“. he added.

NAFCA 2014

Majid Michael

African Oscars 2014

This year, the ceremony was hosted by Lester Speight, Kalitta Smith, writer and actor Michael Adegoke, Hollywood actor Jackie Christie, recording artist Sphynix Rose, Hollywood regular Tony Davis and comedian Trey Elliott.

List of Nollywood and African Film Critics Award winners:

Favourite Actor: Ken Smart (UK)

Favourite Actress: Falia Justima (Haiti)

Favourite Director: Obed Joe (Nigeria)

Favourite Screenwriter: Princess Fumi S. Hancock (Nigeria)

Best Promising Actor: Clara Folashade Fernaldo (Congo)

Favourite Short Film/Trailer: J12 (Haiti)

Favourite Scores: The Storm (Cameroon)

Best Film: Half of a Yellow Sun

Best Drama: Being Mrs. Elliot

Best Actor in Leading Role: Chiwetel Ejiofor for Half of a Yellow Sun

Best Actress in Leading Role: Omotola Ekehinde for Last Flight to Abuja

Best Actor in Supporting Role: Ayo Makun for Being Mrs. Elliot

Best Actress in Supporting Role: Sonia Ibrahim for No 1 Fan

Best Director in a Film: Biyi Bandele for Half of a Yellow Sun

Best Foreign Film: 12 Years a Slave

Best Director in a Foreign Film: Neema Barnette for Woman Thou Art Loosed

Best Actor in a Foreign Film: Blair Underwood for Woman Thou Art Loosed

Best Actress in a Foreign Film: Sharon Leal for Woman Thou Art Loosed

Best Supporting Actor/Actress in a Foreign Film: Nicoye Bank for Woman Thou Art Loosed

Best Film Diaspora: Adora

Best Drama Diaspora Film: Busted Life

Best Actor in Leading Role Diaspora Film: Darrel Quevas for Ortega and His Enemies

Best Actress in Leading Role Diaspora Film: Adi Alfa for Ortega & His Enemies

Best Actor in Supporting Role Diaspora Film: Ike Eziefule for African Time

Best Actress in Supporting Role Diaspora Film: Sana Kanu for Scarlet

Best Director in Diaspora Film: Don Okolo for Gem of the Rainforest

Best Indigenous Film: Moi Zaphira

Best Docudrama: Silent No More

Best Short Film / Trailer: Five

Best Cinematography: Last Flight to Abuja

Best Screenplay: Last Flight to Abuja

Best Editing: Stripped

Best Sound: When One Door Closes

Best Original Score: Ekei

Best Visual Effects: Last Flight to Abuja

Best Costume: The Successor of Katanga

Best Make Up: Obaapa Luiso

Best Promising Actor: Jennifer Oguzie for Last Flight to Abuja

Best Comedy: Go Fish

Best TV/Online Series: Clinic Matters

Best Child Actor in a Film: Kevin Saintil for La Joie de Lire

Song of the Year: Aye by Davido

Artist of the Year: Werranson

The Special Honors-Beverly Hills 2014


Legend Awards

 His Imperial Majesty Kabiyesi Alaiyeluwa Oba Okunade Sijuwade Olubuse II The Ooni of Ife (Nigeria)

  Lifetime Achievement Awards

 HE Hon. President Paul Biya (Republic of Cameroon)

 HE Hon. President Michel Joseph Martelly (Haiti)     

 Lifetime Achievement Awards in Entertainment

 Bobby Womack (USA)       

 Lifetime Achievement Awards in Cinema

  Mr. Louis Gossett Jr. (Hollywood USA)

   Dr. Chika Onu (Nollywood Nigeria)

   Glynn Turman (Hollywood USA)

    Robert Guillaume (Hollywood USA)

    Diahann Caroll (Hollywood USA)

    Patience Ozokwor (Nollywood Nigeria)        

     Image Awards

   Ben Bruce ( CEO Silverbird Group-Nigeria)

   Hon. Governor Idris Ichalla Wada (Kogi State-Nigeria)

   Nolbert Brown Jr. (Tony award winning director-USA)

   Keith David (Actor-Hollywood USA)

   Kathleen Bradley (Actress-Writer-Hollywood USA)

   Tammi Mac  (Actress – Hollywood USA)      

    Image & Humanitarian Awards

  Hon. Dr Folorunsho Alakija (Rose of Sharon-Nigeria)

  HE Hon. First Lady Chantal Biya (Chantal Biya Foundation-Cameroon)

  Mr. Michael Adegoke (Michael Adegoke Foundation Hollywood USA)

  Isaiah Washington – The Gondobay Manga Foundation    

   Humanitarian Awards

  Bishop Noel Jones (City of Refuge-Los Angeles USA)

  Dr. Michael K. Obeng (Restore Worldwide-Beverly Hills USA)

  Mr. Ivor Ichikowitz Ichikowitz Family Foundation – South Africa)

  Hon. Ambassador Gabriel Oyibode (Gabriel Oyibode Foundation-Nigeria)

  Ethan Bortnick (Ethan Bortnick Foundation- Hollywood USA)

  Dr. Maxine Anderson -USA

  Davood Roostaei- (Artist-Hollywood-USA)

  Robert Rosenthall     

   Special NAFCA Patriot Awards

 Hon. Chief Alexander Chukwudima Nwokeabia

 HE. Hon Ambassador Prof Adebowale Ibidapo Adefuye (Embassy of Nigeria Washington DC)

 HE. Hon Ambassador Joseph B.C. Foe Atangana (Embassy of Cameroon Washington DC)

 Ms. Ibinabo Fiberesima

 Deacon Iyke Lawson Kanu (Nigeria)

 Ms. Eeefy Ify Ike (Beverly Hills USA)

 Honorable Hadiza Umar (Nigeria)

 onorable Yvon Alteon (Haiti



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular