Obi Emelonye has a cut in African Magic Viewers Choice Awards 2014 (AMVCA) Winners List!


On Saturday the 8th of March 2014,the 2nd Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards took place at the Eko Hotel & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria. African Celebrities were honoured for an impressive contributions into the Nollywood film industry. It was an evening to remember, as the the power force in African film industry came to reap the fruit of their work via recognition.

Nairobi Half Life a movie by David ‘Tosh’ Gitonga (Kenya) and The Contract, a movie by Shirley Frimpong-Manso (Ghana) turned out to be the movie that swept the highest awards with four awards each.  However, The Contract,won the biggest prize in Movie of the Year category, branding it the best movie in Africa in the year under review. Flower Girl by Michelle Bello won 3 awards, Best Writer & Best 

Supporting Actress and Trailblazer Award which went to Michelle her self. Our very own Obi Emelonye’s Last Flight to Abuja  swept the award for Best Sound Editor.

The night was hosted by IK Osakioduwa, Osas Ighodaro and Vimbai Mutinhiri.




Funke Akindele                     Obi Emelonye               Rita Dominic


Michelle Bello                  Osita Iheme                   Ashionye Michelle Raccah


Barbara Minishi              Desmond Elliot                Elayne Okaya


Amarachukwu Onoh        Chiemela Nwagboso        Amarachukwu Onoh


Elvis Chucks        Herty Owusu & Shirley Frimpong       Frank Rajah Arase


Abba Muko Yakassai       Abba Muko Yakassai        Mercy Aigbe-Gentry

List of Nominees and Winners: 

New Era Award Movie – Rita Dominic – The Meeting

Trailblazer Award – Michelle Bello

Industry Merit Award Pete Edochie


Best Movie 2013
Obi Emelonye – Last Flight to Abuja
Udoka Oyeka & Orode Ryan – Living Funeral
Shirley Frimpong-Manso, Yvonne Okoro & Ken Attoh – Contract (WINNER)
Michelle Bello – Flower Girl
James Omokwe – Awakening

Best Movie Drama
Obi Emelonye – Last Flight to Abuja
Edwin Maina Kariuki – Nairobi Half Life
Udoka Oyeka & Orode Ryan – Living Funeral
Frank Rajah Arase – The Groom’s Bride  (WINNER)
Jumafor Ajogwu & Chris Eneaji – Murder at Prime Suites

Best Movie Comedy
Uche Jombo – Lies Men Tell
Shirley Frimpong-Manso, Yvonne Okoro & Ken Attoh – Contract
Elvis Chucks – A Wish (WINNER)
Martins Onyebuchi Onyemaobi – The Fighter
Martins Onyebuchi Onyemaobi – The Hero

Best Movie Director
Obi Emelonye – Last Flight to Abuja
Tosh Gitonga – Nairobi Half Life
Shirley Frimpong-Manso – Contract (WINNER)
Udoka Oyeka – Living Funeral
Frank Rajah Arase – Price
Amil Shivji – Shoeshine

Best Actress in a Drama
Stephanie Wilson – Living Funeral
Veronica Waceke – Higher Learning
Nse Ikpe-Etim – Journey to Self (WINNER)
Nkiru Sylvanus – Kiss And The Brides
Ivie Okujaiye – The Volunteers

Best Actor in a Drama
Juma Rajab Rashid – Siri Ya Mtungi
Majid Michel – Somewhere in Africa
Hlomla Dandala – Contract
Majid Michel – House of Gold
Tope Tedela – A Mile From Home  (WINNER)

Best Supporting Actor
David Mulwa – Higher Learning
Ian Mbugua – House of Lungula
Desmond Elliot – Finding Mercy (WINNER)
Bimbo Manuel – Torn
Chris Attoh – Flower Girl

Best Supporting Actress
Valerie Kimani – Higher Learning
Jazymn Batchan – Still Standing
Liz Ameye – Living Funeral
Lance Handabile – Love Games
Tamara Eteimo – Desperate House Girls
Bikiya Graham-Douglas – Flower Girl  (WINNER

Best Actor in a Comedy
Hlomla Dandala – Contract
John Okafor – Return of Sheri Koko
Osita Iheme – The Hero (WINNER)
Osita Iheme – The Fighter
Chinedu Ikedieze – The Hero

Best Television Series Comedy/Drama
Grace Kahaki Munthali – Prem Episode 2
Fred Phiri – Love Games Episode 6 (WINNER)
John Riber – Siri Ya Mtungi
Paul Igwe – The Benjamins
Benson Akindeju – Nowhere to be Found

Best Short Film
Vincent Moloi – Berea
Amarachukwu Onoh – Mother Tongue
Amil Shivji – Shoeshine
Walter “Waltbanger” Taylaur – The Wages (WINNER)
Enuma Chigbo – The Deadwood

Best Documentary
Dr Gilbert Chigbo (Narrator) – The Deadwood (WINNER)
Sonia Maingi – Tumanka Goes to School
Peter Murimi – Matatu: My Life, My Art
Peter Murimi- Guardians of the Wild
David Campbell – Shamba Shape Up

Best Indigenous Language Movie/Series (Swahili)
Edwin Maina Kariuki – Nairobi Half Life
Jordan Riber – Siri Ya Mtungi
Ann Hamberger – Nina
Njoki Muhoho – Mama Duka (WINNER)
Musa Venerable Mziba, Vagabond

Best Indigenous Language Movie/Series (Yoruba)
Afeez Eniola – Arinnakore
Mercy Aigbe – Komfo (WINNER)
Abdulrasaq Abdullahi – Edidi
Olatunji Akeem Balogun – Aye Kooto
Olatunji Akeem Balogun – Mufu Olosa Oloko

Best Indigenous Language Movie/Series (Hausa)
Yasin Auwal, Umar K, Mazugal – Wana Gari 1& 2
Hafizu Bello – Bakin Kishi
Abba Muko Yakassai – Habib (WINNER)
Nasir Sa’ad Gwangwazo – Runan Jakara
Mikail I. Bin Hassan – Kurman Gari

Best Online Video
Stacy McDermott & Neville Ossai – Jungle Jewel: The Short Film
Mary Kaiyare – Deceit
Stanlee Ohikhuare – Kpian’s Premonition
Dorothy Ghettuba, Oyunga Pala – Next Big Host
Amarachukwu Onoh – Mother Tongue (WINNER)

Best Writer (Drama)
Shirley Frimpong-Manso & Hertey Owusu – Contract (WINNER)
Patrick Yaadar & Andy Boyo – Off The Hook
Akpor Kagho – Living Funeral
Fatima Jabbe – Battered
Pascal Amanfo – Single & Married

Best Writer (Comedy)
Jigi Bello – Flower Girl (WINNER)
Jahmal Holland – Still Standing
Ohis Udofia – Kuti’s Career Palace
Patrick Onyeka – The Place
Seun Arowojolu – Squatterz

Best Cinematographer
James Michael Costello – Last Flight to Abuja

Christian Almesberger – Nairobi Half Life  (WINNER)
Idhebor Kagho – Living Funeral
Imoh Umoren – Have a Nice Day
Themba Masondo – Taxi Ride

Best Art Director
Barbara Minishi – Nairobi Half Life (WINNER)

Ken Attoh & Shirley Frimpong-Manso – Contract
Shirley Frimpong-Manso – Apples Miniseries Part 1&2
Kyle Quint – Siri Ya Mtungi
Frank Rajah Arase – The Piece

Best Sound Editor
Sola Awoponle – Ilari

Obi Emelonye & Luke Corradine – Last Flight to Abuja  (WINNER)
Jordan Riber – Siri Ya Mtungi
Carl Raccah – Journey to Self
Maurice Kings – Murder at Prime Suites
Paul Apel – Blue Flames

Best Video Editor
Ben Nugent & Obi Emelonye – Last Flight to Abuja
Austin Faani Ikechukwu – Battle for Wealth
Shirley Frimpong-Manso – Contract (WINNER)
Chucks Madu Success – Oga On Top
Jack Esterhuizen – Love Games Episode 25

Best Lightning Designer
Don Izuchukwu – Brother’s Keeper
Godwin Daniel – Living Funeral
Ifeoluwa Balogun – The Benjamins
Mohammed Zain – Nairobi Half Life (WINNER)
Eric Aghimien – A Mile from Home

Best Costume Designer
Adeola Ramonu – Adebola Omo Oba
Doreen Estazia Noni – Siri Ya Mtungi
Catherine Kibugi – Sumu La Penzi Episode 5
Ruth Ndulu Maingi – Lies That Bind Episode 2 Season 2
Chiemela Nwagboso – The Kingdom (WINNER)

Best Make-up Artist
Elayne Okaya – Nairobi Half Life (WINNER)
Olabimpe Cole – Lekki Wives
Alex Gakumo – Sumu La Penzi Episode 1 Season 1
Michael Wawuyo – The Felistas Fable
Rehema Samo – Siri Ya Mtungi
Israel Moses – A Wish
Rosemary Obika, Redemption


The AfricaMagic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCAs) were created to acknowledge and celebrate the contribution made by Pan African filmmakers, actors and technicians in the success of the continent’s film and television industry.

This year a total of 28 awards in 26 categories was awarded ranging from acting and directing to scriptwriting and cinematography, with 9 of these categories being voted for by the viewers. Honours were given in other areas such as editing, make-up, sound, lighting, including the most anticipated of the whole ceremony, the Industry Merit Award and the Trailblazer of The Year Award.


Written by: Noellin Imoh

Pictures: online source

Please follow and like us:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.