Saturday, June 10, 2023
Home5 Nigerian Celebrities Who Lost Miserably During Elections

5 Nigerian Celebrities Who Lost Miserably During Elections

Reading Time: 3 minutes

A lot more Nigerian celebrities, especially in the entertainment industry, joined political parties to represent citizens in political office over the years. While many have succeeded, others are yet to get lucky. Briefly, we’ve done our research and have put together some of the popular celebs who contested for a political sits.

#1 Banky W

The Famous Nigerian singer and Actor Bankole Wellington aka Banky W have lost elections twice in a row. In 2019, Banky W ran for the House of Representatives seat in the Eti-Osa Constituency in Lagos State under the political party the Modern Democratic Party (MDP). Although he was considered a strong candidate, he ultimately lost the election to the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Musiliu Obanikoro.

In 2023, he again ran for the same position under the political party, People Democratic Party (PDP) but lost to Thadeus Attah of the Labour Party.

After he lost the 2023 election to another electoral candidate, fans, supporters and the general public wanted to hear from Banky W after losing two elections in a row, as he was quiet on social media.

Few weeks later, Banky W shared a video on his Instagram page, seen at Water Brook Church ministering. He wrote; “For anyone who’s ever suffered through a loss, a disappointment or a situation where things just didn’t work out the way you hoped… “Faith after a Fall” is for you. For me. For all of us. Please watch this and share if you feel compelled—the full message on my YouTube page.

#2 Funke Akindele

The popular Actress and Filmmaker, Funke Akindele aka Jenifa, is also one of the celebrities who couldn’t secure an election victory. She ran for the seat of Deputy Governor of Lagos State under the umbrella of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in the 2023 gubernatorial election on Saturday, 18th March 2023.

However, she was not successful in her bid to represent the state and lost to the incumbent governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

A few days after she lost the election, she shared a write-up on her Twitter page. She wrote; “It has been an amazing and insightful experience on my journey to the ballot and I must say, it was an absolute learning curve for me. A lot of things have been learned and unlearned. I sincerely do not regret taking this huge step of running for office.”

Funke Akindele went on to delete every campaign post she once made on her Instagram page.

However, Netizens kept talking about her defeat in the 2023 election, as some are surprised that she also lost at her polling unit. Some claimed it’s as a result of her failed marriage.

#3 Olumide Oworu

In 2023, the Nigerian Actor Olumide Oworu, who is best known for his role in the television series ‘The Johnsons,’ contested for a seat in the House of Representatives to represent the Surulere I constituency in Lagos State under the political party of the Labour Party (LP). However, he was unsuccessful in his bid to secure the seat. He lost to the incumbent, Desmond Elliott of the APC, another Nigerian celebrity.

View this post on Instagram
A post shared by Olumide Abiodun Oworu (@olumideoworu)

#4 9ice

In 2015, The Famous Nigerian Singer and Songwriter Abolore Adegbola Akande aka 9ice contested for a seat in the House of Representatives to represent the Ogbomosho North/South/Oriire Federal Constituency in Oyo State. Unfortunately, he lost to a formidable opponent, Prince Akeem Oyewumi, son of the Soun of Ogbomoso, of the All Progressives Congress party, in the Oyo State primary.  

#5 Kate Henshaw

In 2014, The Famous Nollywood Actress Kate Henshaw also lost her ticket to represent the Calabar South Federal Constituency under the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the party primary election held in the state. After the primary election, she took to her Twitter account to address her loss with grace, admitting that it was free and fair while congratulating the winner.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular