Abdulrazak Gurnah Wins The 2021 Nobel Prize In Literature

Please follow and like us:

Novelist Abdulrazak Gurnah has bagged the Nobel prize in literature.

He was offered the win for his “uncompromising and compassionate digging of the effects of colonialism and the fate of the refugee in the gulf between cultures and continents”.

Gurnah, who grew up on one of the islands of Zanzibar and landed in England as a refugee in the 1960s, has published 10 novels as well as a number of short stories.

Anders Olsson, chairman of the Nobel committee, expressed that the Tanzanian writer’s novels, from his debut Memory of Departure, about a failed uprising, to his most currently, the “magnificent”, Afterlives, “recoil from stereotypical descriptions and open our gaze to a culturally diversified East Africa not familiar to many in other parts of the world”.

No black African writer has taken home the prize since Wole Soyinka in 1986. Gurnah is the first Tanzanian writer to win.

Gurnah’s fourth novel, Paradise, was shortlisted for the Booker Prize in 1994.

Anders Olsson said Gurnah was in the kitchen when he was informed of his win and the committee had “a long and very positive” conversation with him.

His long-time editor, Alexandra Pringle at Bloomsbury, said that Gurnah’s win was “most deserved” for a writer who has not previously received due recognition for his work.

“He is one of the top living African writers, and no one has ever taken any notice of him. And it’s killed me. It just killed me. I did a podcast last week and in it I said that he was one of the people that, you know, has been just ignored. He’s been ignored. And now this has happened,” she said.

Share this


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.