Trump Administration Set To Ban 7 More Countries Including Sudan, Nigeria, Tanzania & Eritrea

Reading Time: < 1 minute
Please follow and like us:

The Wall Street Journal and Politico, today January 22nd announced that the Trump administration is planning to expand the travel ban to seven new countries. The list includes Belarus, Kyrgyzstan in Central Asia Myanmar and four African countries which include, Nigeria, Sudan, Tanzania and Eritrea.

Reporters added that restrictions could vary by country and include certain visa restrictions. Some countries will face bans only on some visa categories. The list of countries was not final and could change.

According to reports, countries that failed to comply with security requirements, including biometrics, information-sharing and counter-terrorism measures, faced the risk of limitations on U.S. immigration.

Citizens of Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria and Yemen, as well as some Venezuelan officials and their relatives are blocked from obtaining a large range of U.S. immigrant and non-immigrant visas in the current version of the ban.

The ban is necessary to protect the US against potential acts of terrorism, the Trump administration has said. Apart from Announcement from the Wall Stree Journal and Politico, further information will be released on Monday, January 27 and the expected travel band will be officially announced.


Source: Twitter

Photo credit: BellaNaija

Share this


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.